Skip to content

Happy (late) birthday Nick!

March 21, 2008

I invited 7 twelve-year-old boys to spend the night tonight to celebrate Nick’s birthday (better late than never, right?).  What was I thinking?  Nick must have asked me in a moment of weakness (or when I really wasn’t paying attention to his request).  Now don’t get me wrong ~ each of these boys are good kids.  Nick has had them over one or two at a time and things have gone really well.  Get this many of them together and well…I’m sure you can imagine.  Twelve-year-old boys are just strange.  They played basketball outside for a while and I considered locking the door and pretending I wasn’t home but that wouldn’t make me a very good party host, would it?  Here are some party highlights:

 

~A room full of 12-year-old boys is LOUD!

 

~One boy had a problem with hats being worn at the table but no problem eating 3 plates of pizza rolls and not saving any for anyone else.

 

~One kids says “dude” and the next five minutes the entire conversation is that one word – dude…Dude…dUde…DuDe…dude…Dude…and on and on…just “dude” and only “dude”.  You know what I mean, dude?

 

~One kid wrapped Nick’s gift with lots of masking tape.  Apparently this is extremely funny.  Who knew?

 

~Nerf guns are still fun for 12-year-olds.  I think there was a war going on in my basement. 

 

~They like to “imagine” – Imagine if G’s face was on a dog (hilarious laughter)…Imagine if B had teeth the size of Oklahoma (hilarious laughter)…Imagine if M had a hair growth problem (hilarious laughter)…Imagine if P’s mom had a mohawk (hilarious laughter). 

 

~After playing basketball outside & completing a nerf gun war, 12-year-old boys stink!

 

It’s 11:00 p.m. and I think they’re starting to get tired.  One just came up and wanted some pop to drink.  I asked if he was allowed to drink pop this late at night and he said he was getting tired so he just wanted a few sips.  I suggested he have water ~ we don’t need the caffeine kicking in just now.  I’m so glad I didn’t serve Mountain Dew!  Dude, imagine if 8 boys drank Mountain Dew at 11:00 p.m.!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

