Skip to content

Won't you ride the bus?

May 24, 2008

As gas prices continue to soar Brian & I have been discussing ways we can cut back on driving and save some money in this area.  We both agreed that if would be helpful if both our kids would take the public school bus to school next year.  With Nick this will be no problem as he’s been wanting to ride the bus for years.  I knew with Tay we’d have to approach it in a different way and give her time to warm up to the idea.  Here’s how the initial conversation went:

Me:  Tay, I’d like to talk to you about something.  Now I don’t want you to get mad or cry.  I want you to listen to what I have to say and think & pray about it.  You know how gas prices keep rising and Daddy and I were talking about ways we could save some money when it comes to gas and we think it would be helpful if you would ride the school bus next year.

Tay:  Nope.

Me:  Now you don’t have to give me your final answer right now.

Tay:  Nope.

Me:  Take some time to think about it and pray about it.

Tay:  Nope.

Me:  And after you’ve had time to think about it some we’ll talk about it some more.

Tay:  Nope.

Me:  Now you don’t have to give me your final answer right now.  You have some time to think about it.

Tay:  Nope.  There is no way I’m riding that bus.

I think she’s warming up to the idea, don’t you?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

