Skip to content

Parenting… Wal-mart style

September 21, 2008

Tay and I ran to Wal-Mart last night after dinner to pick up a few things.  When we were in line to check out there was a very sleepy looking little boy in the cart in front of us (he looked to be two, maybe three years old).  There was also one frazzled looking mom with him.  Poor thing, I’m sure she just wanted to get her groceries and get home so her boy could go to bed.  Somewhere along the line (I wasn’t looking) the tired boy must have hit the frazzled mom.  Now, this is never a pleasant situation for any mom to be in but what happened next just made me feel so sorry for the poor frazzled mom.  The check out lady begins to lecture the boy on how it is not nice to hit your mom.  Then she tells the mom that it’s better for the kids to hear these things from other people as they just think it’s funny when their parents tell them.  I wonder when Wal-Mart started training their cashiers to give out parenting advice?  As the frazzled mom and her tired boy begin to walk away the advice giving cashier had to make one last point to the poor tired boy as she reminded him again that he “must be nice to his mommy”.  I’m sure the frazzled mom was so embarrassed by this point. 

So, now it’s my turn to check out.  I made sure Tay was standing at attention next to me and only answered in “yes, ma’am” and “no, thank you” (kidding!).  As the advice giving cashier began to ring up my items she noticed the large bag of candy I was getting.  She says, “oh, Halloween candy.  Is this for snacking on at home?”.  NOT that it was any of her business, but I quickly told her it was for the kids at church (and it was) before I got a lecture on the dangers of feeding my kids candy!

If you’re ever at the Wal-Mart in my neighborhood be sure to visit check-out lane #11 for “every day low prices” and free parenting advice. :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

