Skip to content

The Cake

September 23, 2008

Remember how I told you I was decorating Tay’s birthday cake this year and it would either be wonderful or end up on the cake wreck blog?  Well, apparently cake decorating is much like riding a bike.  Once you learn you never forget.  You see, 20+ years ago (yes, I’m getting old) I took two sessions of cake decorating classes.  This was when I lived at home with my parents.  I made some cakes for fun & even sold one or two.  In the years since then I haven’t done many any cakes.  Until now…check it out!

So, whatdaya think?  It cracks me up!  I was so thrilled with it!  Tay loved it!!  The girls at Pump It Up said it was the cutest cake they’d ever seen (I’m not braggin’, just sayin’ what they said :)

I was SO afraid I’d turn out something like this attempt at a monkey cake:

http://cakewrecks.blogspot.com/2008/09/cupcake-cakes-always-wrecktastic-always.html

That one makes me laugh too ~ but for totally different reasons! :)

The pan I used for this monkey can be used for a variety of animals.  Brian’s birthday is coming up soon.  Think he’d like a giraffe cake?  Or maybe a pig?  I’ve gotta get my money’s worth out of this pan so from now on it’s animal cakes for everyone!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

