Skip to content

Busy Thursday

November 13, 2008

The kids were off school today (tomorrow too!) for teacher in-service days.  I’m not really sure what that means but if it gets us a day off school I’m all for it! :)

Anyhoo…no sleeping in for me today.  Remember my lack of motivation from yesterday?  Well, I paid for it today.  We had plans for friends to be here this afternoon so I HAD to finish cleaning my house.  Tay came down as I was mopping the kitchen and she says, “Gee mom, it’s just my fourth grade friends.  You don’t clean this much for Christmas.”  Well, I’ll have her know that I do clean this much for Christmas but most of it is done when she’s not here – and I ususally mop when they’re gone or in bed.  I guess I need to do more cleaning in front of her so she can see that it actually gets done on a (semi) regular basis!

We left here around 9:00 for a quick trip to the store to pick up a birthday gift for Tay’s friend and then headed to the pediatrician’s office for flu shots.  That did not go well.  I’m trying to block the whole thing from my memory – and I don’t want to embarass anyone – so you’ll just have to believe me when I say that I’m so thrilled that I won’t have to go through that again for 12 more months.

Back home and Nick has a friend get dropped off.  I quickly wash the dishes and clean the basement bathroom.  Then we head to lunch with some friends (party of 13 – I know Brian wishes he could have been there).  All the kids got their ice cream this time.  No tears.  Yay!

After lunch we headed to the movies.  All the girls (and one little brother) saw High School Musical 3.  Nick & his friend saw Madagascar 2.  Everyone loved their movies.

Took Nick’s friend home.  All of Tay’s peeps came back to the house to hang out.  After they played for a couple of hours we all headed out to another friend’s birthday party at Pump it Up.

While we were at the party Nick went to basketball try-outs.  He was wanting to try wrestling this year but they’ve decided to cut the wrestling program due to lack of interest (only 2 junior high boys signed up).  He said he had fun at b-ball.  I’m sure he’ll be sore in the morning.

We were all back home – and in our jammies (well, I was) – by 8:30. 

Whew.  What a day.  To top it off I have a horrible cold and feel horrible.  I’ve finally given in and am trying Brian’s “sure thing” for taking care of a cold.  Airborn & Vitamin C.  Now I may have made fun of his insistence that this combo cures everything he’s even thought of coming down with but don’t you know that he & I both started with colds on Monday.  Today I feel miserable.  Today HE feels fine.  Hmmmm….maybe there is something to this.  We’ll see!

It’s now 10:25.  Brian’s in bed.  Tay’s in bed.  Nick’s still up because i forgot to fix him a snack.  I never heard him ask for one.  He says he did.  I’m sure it’s my fault.  Funny from earlier today — Nick hadn’t done something I had asked (get dressed, I think) and after the conversation I said “I guess it’s all my fault huh?”.  And he says, “Yes it is.  Thanks for understanding.”  Crazy kid!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

