Skip to content

A Postcard from a Friend

November 22, 2008

I’m back!  Did you miss me?  Did you even notice I was gone?  I know my DFF Jackie did.  She sent me a text around 10:30 tonight telling me I needed to update my blog!  (hi Jackie)  She & I talk or text each other every day but she still enjoys my blog.  That’s a true friend. :)

Anyhooo….the other day I was excited to get a postcard from a friend in my e-mail.  The very second I opened it up I had a brief memory of a virus warning.  Guess what?  Yep.  It wasn’t a postcard from a friend at all (and it looked like it was from a very legitimate company).  It was a virus.  Not just any old virus either.  Brian said it was one of the worst he has seen.  Ugh.  He had to wipe everything off of our computer and start from scratch.  Fortunately he was able to save some “important” things that I might need — documents, e-mail, etc.  He has now declared himself the “administrator” of this machine.  Apparently the kids and I need more supervision! :)

So, after two or three days of fighting this computer bug we were back up and running.  I was all set to update the blog and post various things when I discovered that I was locked out of my own blog.  I couldn’t remember my password!  That’s not 100% true.  I didn’t even know my password.  Yikes!  How could this be?!?!?!  Not to worry.  I contacted my “administrator” and he saved the day by supplying me with the missing password. 

It’s good to be back.  Be on the lookout for those nasty viruses – don’t open anything that says “postcard from a friend”.  Also avoid “ups delivery notice” – at least that’s what the 503 e-mails I received about it said.  The “administrator” really should make me a list of all the things I’m NOT supposed to open.  Wouldn’t that be a good idea?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

