Skip to content

2009

December 31, 2009

Each year I’m scrambling to get my Christmas cards sent out before Christmas.  Each year I say I’m going to get them done early in December.  I never do.  Next year I’ll try again.  I know a lot of people don’t like Christmas letters.  I do.  I never write one…mainly because I’m scrambling to even get the cards out.   :)   Instead, I just write a “yearly highlight” blog post.  If you follow my blog (and at least hundereds two people do), you might already know all of this but I’m going to write it anyways.  It’ll be a good reminder for myself of the events of the year.  And how blessed I am with my family and friends.

January:  We officially have a teenager in the house when Nick turned 13!  Yikes!  Are we old enough to be the parents of a teen? 

February:  We host our annual Super Bowl Party.  Once again, I have no idea who wins the game (and right now I can’t even remember who was playing).  I just enjoyed being with good friends.  :)  Taylor starts puppets at church.  Brian has a minor medical issue (he’s fine – but what a way to start the year!).   

March:  Nick gets his bottom braces on.  Brian & I attend the annual CCS musical.  This year was Les Miz.  Neither of us have any idea what the show was about.  LOL!  Not my favorite musical.  Nick does really well in the CCS science fair. 

April:  I turned 40.  Really?  How did that happen?

May:  We attend our first CCS high school choir concert.  Amazing.  Brian & Nick went to “Math & Science Day” at Kings Island.  We decide Nick should stay at CCS.  Nick decides he hates us.  :(

June:  Nick finishes 7th grade.  Taylor finishes 4th grade.  Let the summer fun begin!  Taylor went to volleyball camp and loved it.  Nick was a junior counselor at church camp and I hear he was great with the little kids.  I’m not surprised.  Nick went to jr. high church camp for a week and had a great time.  Tay enjoyed the time he was away as well.  We had fun visiting Kings Island with friends. 

July:  We did a “staycation” this year, finding lots of fun things to do close to home:  aquarium, creation museum, bowling (which we did several times this summer), and a mini-roadtrip to Columbus.  Nick went on a week long mission trip to St. Louis with our middle school youth group.  He loved every minute of it. 

August:  Nick & I worked at our church’s VBS.  Tay attended.  A good time was had by all.  Taylor went to “Puppet Boot Camp”.  I tagged along.  Never realized how serious people can be about puppets!  Taylor started 5th grade.  Nick started 8th grade – and was still angry about being at CCS. 

September:  We started our 4th season (I think, I lose track!) of Kidstuf.  I’m co-hosting again this year, Brian & Nick are on the tech team, and Taylor is a singer.  Tay auditioned for a part in the Christmas musical (and got the part she wanted!).  Brian turned 40!  We enjoyed visiting with Brian’s brother Steve.

October:  We enjoyed watching Taylor in the 5th grade chapel at school.  Nick changed schools!  He’s no longer “moody miserable Nick”.  Our old Nick is back!  Taylor started volleyball practice.   

November:  Brian & Nick attend the State Youth Convention in Columbus.  Brian may never go on another youth trip again!  Both kids are busy practicing for their Christmas programs at church.  I took a horrible chili to the chili cook-off at church (thankfully it wasn’t the worst one there!).  I begin my quest for the perfect chili.  :)  I started working out with a trainer.  It’s HARD! 

December:  Tay has her first band concert.  The brand new 5th grade band was great.  Nick did a great job in the youth Christmas play.  Taylor did a fabulous job in the children’s musical (she surprised many people who think she’s so quiet — she has them fooled!).  Nick was inducted in the National Junior Honor Society.  We enjoy FOUR Christmas celebrations and a fun break from school.  :)

I’m thankful for God’s blessings on our family and how He cares for us in good times & bad.  Looking forward to all that 2010 holds.

11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the LORD, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.  Jeremiah 29:11

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

