Skip to content

Things That Make You Go Hmmm…:McDonald's Edition

July 8, 2010

This morning I ran through McDonald’s drive-thru to pick up a frappe’.  A frappe’ makes me happe’.  :)

I wasn’t so happe’ when I saw the line clear around the building (at 10:15 a.m. — who goes to McD’s at 10:15 a.m.?). 

Anyhoo…as I’m waiting in line and looking at a Vera Bradley catalog, I notice two McD workers exit the store.  One has a clipboard & pen.  The other has a walkie talkie.  They approach the car in front of me and talk to the driver and then move away from the line.  The line moves so I drive up past the workers and then one of them approaches my car.  He says they’re taking orders and then calling them inside so they can speed up the line and do I know what I want.  I give him my order.  He writes it down.  During this time the line has started moving so I pull forward to the speaker.  As I’m sitting at the speaker, where I normally give my order, I hear the guy on the walkie talkie calling in my order.  Really?  I’m AT the speaker.  Did it save time by having HIM call it in rather than giving it myself? 

Hmmm….

There seems to be so much wrong with this picture.  Did it speed the line up?  No.  In fact, I think it slowed the line down even more.  No one knew their order totals before pulling up to the window so time was spent there getting out money that probably would have been ready had we known the total in advance.  Also, they now had THREE people taking the orders for each car!  This is a job that is normally done by ONE person!  Wouldn’t it have been better to have those two extra people inside cooking & bagging the orders? 

Hmmm….

There was a comedian (can’t remember his name) who used to call the workers at McD’s “McMorons”.  Well….

This almost beats the time I couldn’t get a medium size iced tea because they didn’t have a cup to put it in.  I still can’t figure out why they couldn’t use the same cups they used for the medium diet coke I ordered. 

Hmmm…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

