Skip to content

Heard Around the House: You want to be an old lady?

July 11, 2010

Tonight, while we were eating supper, I told everyone about an episode of Super Nanny where she quizzed the parents on their children – favorite color, favorite food, etc.  We had fun doing the quiz ourselves and got most of the answers correct (whew!).  Tay did stump us on her favorite food – hashbrown casserole (good to know).  We then had the kids try to figure out our favorites.  One of the questions was “what do you want to be when you grow up?”.  Nick wants to design video games.  Tay wants to be a teacher.  When it came time for them to answer this question about me…

Nick:  You want to be an old lady.

Me:  Yes, I do.

Brian:  You do?  I don’t want to get old.

Me:  Yes, I want to live a long life.  But I want to be an old lady like my Grandma Taus.

For some reason they think this is funny….

Me:  What?  I want to be a healthy old lady – fun and maybe a little kooky.  I don’t want to be one of those crotchety* old ladies.

Nick:  Too late!

I thought Brian & Tay were gonna choke on their conies. 

*crotchety:  given to odd notions, whims, grouchiness, etc.  (I’m not opposed to odd notions or whims.  I just don’t want to be grouchy!)

One Comment leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    July 11, 2010 11:52 pm

    Aww…that is so sweet. Your answer brought tears to my eyes.

Leave a Reply

