Skip to content

If I Could Only Whistle

September 28, 2010

So I let Shadow out tonight before bedtime.  He’s not out long and I hear him barking like crazy.  I go to let him in and discover he’s way out by the barn.  He’s a black dog & it’s dark.  I can’t really see him.  It’s late so I can’t really yell for him.  So I try to whistle.  Sadly, my whistle makes the same sound one might make when blowing out candles on a birthday cake. 

Pretend there’s a cake in front of you and you’re blowing out the candles (go ahead, no one is watching).  Did you hear that noise you made when blowing out the candles?  I didn’t either.  And neither did Shadow. 

Anyoo…the dog is way back in the yard.  Barking.  Late at night.  I try whistling again.  I try quietly shouting his name (have you ever tried to quietly shout?).  I tried clapping.  I tried flicking the light off and on. 

I remembered that when I was young I knew how to whistle by sticking my fingers in my mouth.  If I recall correctly, it was a rather loud whistle.

Yes, I tried it.  No, it wasn’t loud.  Remember the “birthday candle whistle”?  Well, this was the same but with my fingers in my mouth. 

I tried flicking the lights again.  And clapping.  And quitely shouting. 

At this point I think I see a black blob running back and forth accross the yard.  Like he’s chasing something.  Lovely.

My only hope at this point is that he’ll get tired and head in. 

I flick the lights, clap, quietly yell, and “whistle” again. 

I begin to wonder if I should buy a dog whistle.

Do dog whistles work?

Finally the dog heads towards the house. 

Whew!

Gosh, oh gee…how happy I’d be…if I could only whistle!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    September 29, 2010 10:36 am

    So funny, and I can relate, I cannot whistle either.

  2. Jackie permalink
    September 30, 2010 1:32 pm

    This made me crack up!

Leave a Reply

