Skip to content

Cookies

October 25, 2010

I’ve always wanted to learn how to decorate cookies.  Not just covering them with frosting and sugar but really decorate them.  You know the kind I’m talking about, I’m sure.  Anyhoo…I decided to find a class in my area and was so thrilled to find one 20 minutes from home.  I was afraid to tell my family for fear they’d think I’d totally lost it.  I cracked up as I was trying to explain to them what I wanted to do.  They didn’t think it was all that crazy (or maybe they’re just used to my crazy ideas).  I wasn’t going to tell anyone else my plans but happened to be chatting online one night to my DFF and told my cookie secret.  Would you believe she wanted to go with me?  The classes fill up quickly so we hurried and signed up and then waited for the day of the class to hurry up and get here.

The day before our class we got notice that it had been postponed.  We were so bummed.  We had to wait a couple more weeks but finally the time arrived.

We met at the place about 15 minutes before class started.  It’s in an old house (I guess it was a house) with a store on one side and the class area on the other.  My DFF came to the class all dressed up.  I couldn’t remember when I had seen her in a skirt.  I also couldn’t remember the formal dress code being listed on the registration form.   LOL! 

(in all fairness, she had just come from an event honoring her husband and his new job but making fun of her makes the blog a bit more exciting…sorry DFF!)

We walk into the classroom and there isn’t anyone there.  We hope we’re in the right place at the right time.  The instructor pops out of the closet behind us and tells us to pick a seat anywhere.  We choose two seats at the far end of the table.  Finally the table fills up and we get started.

The instructor…

  • showed us how to roll out the cookie dough using various methods to get it all the same thickness.
  • likes cookie dough that doesn’t have to be refrigerated for an hour – cause when she wants to make cookies, she wants to make cookies.
  • likes her cookies thin & crispy. 
  • realized that no one in the class took the thin & crispy cookies with the edges that were too brown.
  • used a camera & tv so we could all see what she was doing on the counter.
  • failed to make sure the cookie she was decorating was in the correct area on the counter so we could see it on the tv.
  • likes black cats.
  • really likes black cats.
  • thinks she may have been a witch in a previous life.
  • because she likes black cats.
  • hates royal icing.
  • was tired of the icing she’s been using forever so is experimenting with her own.
  • tested out her own on us.
  • made coconut icing even though she knows most people don’t like coconut (what the heck?)
  • licked her fingers.
  • didn’t wash her hands.
  • says the best part of cookie decorating is eating your mistakes (one woman ate 6 of her 12 cookies). 
  • hates cupcakes.
  • will not be teaching the cupcake class in a couple of weeks.
  • talked so much the class ran over by about 1/2 hour.

I LOVED decorating the cookies and cannot wait to pick up some supplies and do some at home.  I did hate the fact that I brought home a dozen cookies that no one would eat due to the coconut icing.  :(  I won’t be using coconut icing on my own.  I’ll probably try the royal icing she hates.  It’s not as shiny as hers.  I like my cookies with less shine (if people can’t tell the difference between cookies and ornaments, your icing might be a bit too shiny!). 

I cannot wait for the cupcake class.  Wonder what my DFF will be wearing.  I might have to go out and buy a new fancy outfit!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    October 26, 2010 11:29 am

    LOL I also noticed the finger licking and not washing her hands…yuck! I did have fun though and yes I do think you need a fancy out fit for cupcake day!

Leave a Reply

