Skip to content

You Know What I Mean?

October 28, 2010

Last night I ran in to the store for a couple of quick things (coffee & dryer sheets, if you must know).  I headed to the express lane for a quick check out.  It was anything but quick.  I’m sure the lady two people in front of me had more than 20 items.  She put them on the counter two at a time though so it took longer and no one could keep track.  I noticed the cashier was doing a lot of talking as well.  He was a chatty fellow.  The guy in front of me didn’t take too long and then it was my turn…

First he asks if I want my two items in one bag.  Seriously?  I had two little items.  I told him I’d prefer he’d gift wrap them (not really, but that would have been funny, don’t you think?). 

And then…

Cashier Dude (CD from now on):  Gosh, the faster I work the longer the line gets.

Me:  You need more registers open (ALL the lines were really long).

CD:  Yeah, I know.  You know no one wants to work these jobs.  Either that or they just don’t want to hire anyone.  You know what I mean?

Me:  Yes, I do.

CD:  I mean you don’t make a lot of money doing this.  You know what I mean.

Me:  I do know what you mean.

CD:  I do okay though.  Not like I’m buying luxury cars or anything.  You know what I mean?

Me:  Yep.  I sure do know what you mean.

I’m thinking he could have gotten us all through the line a whole lot faster with a little less talking.

You know what I mean?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

