Skip to content

Year in Review

January 1, 2011

I love getting Christmas letters but it seems as if no one does them anymore.  I only got two this year, both via email (which is fine).  Although I love them, I never send them.  Since I’ve had the blog though it’s been fun to do a “recap” of the year – for my own memory if nothing else.

All in all 2010 was a good year.  There were a few things that happened that reminded me that I need to be thankful for all the good things in my life and that life as we know it can change in an instant.  Maybe I’ll be able to blog about this someday.  Maybe not.  I know that I’m extremely blessed and I never want to take that for granted. 

Anyhoo…here’s a peek at our lives in 2010…

January – Tay played volleyball for her school and had a GREAT  coach.  She learned so much from her and the team had a great season.  The kids discovered a love of IZZE and somehow Nick manages to get one each time he gets his haircut the whole year (which was only about two times!).  Nick turned 14.  Let that sink in a minute.  14.  No idea how he got to be so old.    Nick started voice lessons and I started going to a trainer. 

February – The month started with Freshman orientation.  Say what?  Freshman?  Orientation?  Yikes.  Time to start planning for next school year already.  We hosted our annual Super Bowl Party.  I hurt my back exercising (I knew it was a bad idea).  Nick starts drama club at school.  We all enjoyed our annual youth group tubing trip.

March – Tay finishes volleyball and begins her quest for a cell phone.  She also gets glasses.  We switch my blog to WordPress.  I finally blog about my New Year’s Goals (don’t ask how those went!).

April – The kids have different Spring Breaks so the first two weeks are spent having fun.  Nick played the Monkey King in his school play, Rikki Tikki Tavi.  He did a great job!  We all had fun (and dressed the part) at our youth group Disco skate.  Fun! 

May – Nick’s school did a very cool Civil War Museum.  He made some weapons to display.  Tay has her last band concert.  She’s a great clarinet player but decided to give it up.  Brian & Nick go to a Red’s game with the middle school boys from church (the only Red’s game they went to all year).  We finish up another season of Kidstuf.

June – School ended (the kids were so sad).  We took a fun-filled vacation to Myrtle Beach.  We’ve always said we’re not “beach people” but we had a great week – Nick & Brian even went parasailing!

July – It’s HOT!  And our air went out.  Being the resourceful family that we are, we turned our hot tub into a pool!  (You might be a redneck….)  Brian & Nick went to their first Monster Truck show (loved it!).  Nick did a theater camp at school (and had to sing a solo in the final show).  I was told I might have diabetes.  Thankfully I did not!  Whew!  I hosted a jewelry party (I don’t host parties!).  It was fun, I got lots of free stuff, and I’ll probably do it again!

August – I started the month by dragging the kids to a study skills class (they were thrilled).  I took my yearly trip to Women of Faith with my girlfriends.  Nick & Brian went to Mammoth Cave (and loved it!).  School started (again, they were thrilled).  Shadow had emergency surgery to remove a tumor (poor puppy!).

September – Nick started robotics training at school.  We started another season of Kidstuf (I’m the only one from my family participating this year).  Tay turned 12.  Yes, 12!  Seriously, could they not grow up so fast?  Brian turned 41.  Oldtimer.  We made the decision to take Tay our of her school and school at home for 6th grade.  She loves it.  I had a rough start.

October – The kids started Christmas musical & play practice at church (they both got the parts they wanted – yay!).  I took a cookie decorating class with my DFF.  Brian & I celebrated our 20th anniversary!  Say what?  Tay decided not to trick-or-treat this year.  Brian & I went on a COOL segway tour of Eden Park.

November – Brian & Nick played paintball with a group of guys from church.  Nick loved it.  Brian?  Not so much!  My DFF & I took a cupcake class.  I’m now a bit obsessed with finding the perfect cupcake/frosting combo.  A group of bees took of residence in the roof of our porch (Brian & Nick helped them “relocate”!).  We had lots to be Thankful for at Thanksgiving.

December – Nick played a mall cop in the youth group Christmas play.  He did a great job.  Tay was wonderful as the nerdy “Nora” in the children’s musical.  I even got in on the fun and played “Grandma”.  Brian ran sound for both shows.  Nick got his braces off!  He has a great smile!!  We had a wonderful time celebrating Christmas with our families. 

Hope you all can look back and see the blessings of 2010 in your own lives and look forward to positive things to come in 2011. 

Thanks for reading!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

