Skip to content

Let's Celebrate

January 3, 2011

The Christmas decorations are all put away (except for the stocking on the front door that I keep forgetting about until I pull into the driveway and then think “I should take that down” but forget by the time I get into the house) and I thought the celebrations had ended.  I was wrong!  I recently discovered that today is a very special holiday.  Another reason to celebrate (and I’m not talking about the kids going back to school)!

Grab your party hats cause today is “National Drinking Straw Day”. 

Let that sink in for a moment.

I know…

I think it’s wonderful too.

Those who know me well know that I love drinking straws (I even got some for Christmas!).  I use them so often I have a special place for them in my kitchen.

Drinking with a straw is just more fun!

And did you know that on this date in 1888 a man named Marvin Stone patented the first paper drinking straw?  He was a genius!  Before that people were using grass straws (can you even imagine?).  Thank you Marvin for bringing such fun to the world. 

So there ya go.  Grab your party hats AND a drinking straw and celebrate!

One Comment leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    January 3, 2011 11:03 pm

    WOOHOO !!!!!!

Leave a Reply

