Skip to content

Not-Fried Ice Cream

January 6, 2011

I really don’t have much to say today – I haven’t even updated my fb status for the day (shocking, I know) – but I’ve been blogging every day so I felt like I should post something.  When Brian’s dad & step-mom were here for Christmas she was telling me about having some people to her house for dinner and serving a mexican casserole.  She made fried ice cream for dessert.  I decided I’d try to make some to finish off our mexican dinner tonight.  It was a big hit!  I couldn’t find a recipe online that sounded like what she had told me she’d done so I just winged it (I’m turning into my grandmother!).  Anyhoo…in case you want to wing it too:

Scoop out several large balls of vanilla ice cream – I made four (since I was serving four).

Shape the scoops into round balls and put back into the freezer for a bit.

Meanwhile, crush up some cornflakes (around 1/2 cup or so).

Toss some cinnamon (2T) and sugar (1T) into the cornflakes and stir it all together.

Roll ice cream balls into the cornflake mixture and return to the freezer.

When you’re ready for dessert put the ice cream into a small dish.  Top with whipped cream and drizzle with chocolate or honey (we used chocolate). 

Yum-o! 

If you search for recipes online  you’ll find lots of variations of this recipe.  Most do require you to fry the ice cream.  This one does not and it tastes great.  Tay asked if I could make it again sometime.  I guess….if I have to…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

