Skip to content

Falling Apart

February 24, 2011

Last summer when we were at the beach I noticed that I needed a new swimsuit (the seam in my shorts was coming loose — not something you want to mess around with!).  We were near a couple of outlet malls and I was thrilled to find a suit that I liked.  This was a big deal since I HATE shopping for swimsuits.  That suit was great for the rest of our beach vacation and the many trips to the local waterpark. 

A couple of nights ago we decided to head to the Y for a late evening swim.  Tay has been dying to go swimming ever since we got our passes and this was the time.  We all grabbed our suits and towels and headed out.  When we got in the pool I mentioned to Brian that I had forgotten to take the code off the back of my lock (duh! – we had just gotten new locks) and when we realized that Tay had some valuables in the locker I decided I better head back to the locker room to remove it.  Just in case.  You’d like to think no one would steal things but unfortunately that’s not the case.  Anyhoo…as I was walking through the water to the stairs I noticed that the skirt of my swimsuit felt weird.  It seemed like it was longer than usual.  Seemed odd that it would be stretching that much just from getting wet.  I wore it all last year and never had these issues.  I quickly grabbed my towel, wrapped it around me and headed to the locker room to see what was going on.  Tay had a suit last year that had been damaged by chlorine – at least that’s what we think happened as the material got thin and stretched all out of shape.  That same thing was happening to my skirt. 

So, I headed back to the pool.  Tossed my towel aside and quickly got into the pool.  I told Brian we had a problem!  My suit was falling apart!  LOL!  We figured we better hurry up and swim before it completely disintigrated!  Thankfully that didn’t happen but the crazy thing continued to stretch out and ended up being below my knees by the time we were finished with our swim!  Tay likes to watch a show about a family with a ton of kids (you know the one!).  When they swim they wear something called “wholesome wear” that covers everything.  With my long skirt I would have fit right in!

I now have one swimsuit with shorts that are falling apart and one with a skirt that’s falling apart.  I’m going to try to find a pair of swim shorts to match both tops to wear for a while until I have to buy a whole new suit.  Crazy!  From now on I’ll be inspecting my suit before heading to the pool!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    February 26, 2011 8:18 am

    Your swimsuit incident cracked me up!!!! love you.

  2. margistarr permalink
    March 5, 2011 10:13 pm

    This blog reminded me of a funny, true story…Years ago, and I do mean YEARS ago, I was sitting on the side of a ski boat ready to jump into the water to ski. The bottom of my 2-pc suit got hung up on the little metal thing that they wrap rope around. I was hanging from the boat…my feet were in the water…and my suit was still attached to the boat. Finally, the bottom of my suit ripped clear through. There I was…in the water…with my swim bottoms a-flapping…. So embarrassing….

  3. tjstarr permalink
    March 5, 2011 11:03 pm

    LOL Margi! Too funny (although I’m sure it wasn’t at the time!!).

Leave a Reply

