Skip to content

Old School Cake Decorating

March 13, 2011

My father-in-law just turned 70.  I hope he doesn’t mind me putting his age on the blog.  I pretty sure he doesn’t even know about the blog so no worries!

Anyhoo…we were supposed to go to Springfield to celebrate the weekend before his birthday but Nick came down with the most awful stomache bug ever so we stayed home.  Then my mother-in-law had surgery on her shoulder and was down for the count.  We were finally able to celebrate last weekend.

Being the crazy person awesome daughter-in-law that I am, I decided I would help my MIL out and offer to make the cake.  I’ve decorated a cake or two in my day (even took some classes back in the early 90’s) so I figured I could pull something together.  I thought and thought…what kinds of things does he like….what kinds of things does he like that I can translate into a cake with my limited decorating skills…

Brian told me I was putting too much thought into it.  He says go down in the basement and grab one of those old cake pans and just bake something. 

You see, my in-laws used to like to decorate cakes.  You know the ones with the character shaped pans and you pipe icing stars over the whole thing?  I can do that!

We headed down to the basement and narrowed it down to an old fashioned car or the pink panther.  We decided on the old fashioned car.  It’s a small pan so I decided to do a layer cake with a square bottom and the car on top.  I searched the internet and found the directions for how to decorate this cake and also discovered that the pan is called Mini Antique Car and it dates back to 1974. 

Anyhoo…when I go to bake the cakes I discover that my square cake pan is in the freezer (holding some left over chicken spaghetti I froze for another meal).  On to “plan B”.  We’ll make the car cake an some cupcakes.  Going against all decorating advice from one of the judges on my favoirite cupcake show, we decorated the thing in red & black frosting.  My in-laws were surprised and thrilled with our old school birthday cake.  It brought back lots of memories & fun stories of the cakes they made back in the day.

Happy Birthday Grandpa!  We love you!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    March 13, 2011 9:51 pm

    Great job! I really want to try to make cakes soon! We need to start going to our classes again!

  2. jean permalink
    March 14, 2011 1:53 am

    love it.

Leave a Reply

