Skip to content

Why I Almost Cried in the School Parking Lot

June 3, 2011

School is out!  Yay!  We love summer break around here.

Yesterday morning I was waiting in the school parking lot for Nick (they got out at 10:30 after their last exam). 

When waiting at parent pick-up, it’s not uncommon to hear the afternoon announcements.  Yesterday the principal came on and gave a nice, encouraging talk about the end of the school year and their future.  Then she read some Dr.  Seuss to them.  It was about “the places you’ll go” (I think the book has a similar name). 

Anyhoo…I found it very touching and it was all I could do to keep from crying! 

We were out earlier today and I asked Tay to get something from my purse…

Tay:  Why do you have a baggie of tissues?

Me:  For church.  Sometimes I cry at church.

Nick:  And on the carousel.

Yes, I almost cried on the carousel.  *sigh* 

Thankfully they didn’t know about the school parking lot!  I’m sure they were rolling their eyes as it was.

Oh, well…

(I promise these “why I almost cried” posts will not become a regular feature here on the old blog!  Or maybe they will.  Who knows!)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    June 3, 2011 8:39 pm

    I totally understand! I have cried for almost 3 days now! The book is called “Oh the Places You Will Go”. A lot of people buy it for graduates!

  2. jean permalink
    June 3, 2011 11:55 pm

    I almost cried just reading the TITLE of your blog. I thought, oh no, here goes another tear jerker!! I could fill a book of the “times that I almost cried and the times that I did cry”. You just love your kids so much, that I guess this is one the things that only a Mother can understand about our tears. Okay, now I am crying!!!! I love you Tracy.

Leave a Reply

