Skip to content

Totally Unprepared

June 11, 2011

This morning the vet called and said we could come get our sweet boy.  He asked Brian if Shadow had any separation anxiety because he was laying around whining/wimpering.  LOL!  They didn’t think he was in much pain so they figured it must be from missing us.  He does that when he’s with my parents too. 

Tay and I drove to the hospital to pick him up.  She waited in the car so she didn’t see him right away.  I wish she hadn’t gone with me.  I was totally unprepared for how he’d look after surgery.  They had to shave half of his head!  Plus he was wearing “the cone” and just not acting like himself.  I was able to warn Tay that he didn’t look good  before she actually saw him but she was still freaked out a bit.  Poor thing.

I think Shadow is mad at me.  He’s not been real happy to see me at all (and I’m usually his favorite.  Ha!).  We thought he’d come home and crash but he has spent most of the day wandering around whining.  It’s pitiful.  I was finally able to give him another pain pill and I think he may finally be settling down a bit.

The hospital gave us some discharge instructions from the doctor.  She wrote a note at the bottom of the page that says, “Shadow is a sweet dog and was a wonderful patient.”  Aww.

I sure hope my sweet boy heals up quickly.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Allie permalink
    June 11, 2011 5:54 pm

    Okay, I just cried when I saw that picture. I would be totally unprepared for that as well. Praying for a speedy recovery for my sweet friend <3

  2. jean permalink
    June 11, 2011 10:47 pm

    Get well soon Shadow. We all love you.

Leave a Reply

