Skip to content

Why I Almost Cried at the Animal Hospital

June 11, 2011

I wasn’t going to write this post but since the “Why I Almost Cried” posts have become a regular blog feature…

This morning I had to drop Shadow off at the animal hospital for surgery.  Poor thing had a growth along the nerve above one of his eyes.  He came through surgery fine and should be able to come home tomorrow.

This morning wasn’t easy.  He was nervous and cried/whined a bit on the way there.  Made me feel bad.  :(

When we were checking in I had to sign a bunch of papers.  The finanacial papers alone were enough to make me cry!  You hate to put a price on your dog’s health but seriously.  This sweet boy has cost us more in health care than our children have!  Hopefully this will be it for dog surgeries (I won’t say “never again” because everytime we say that he ends up needing another surgery). 

What really got me was the final form giving permission for treatment and what I wanted them to do (or not do) above and beyond the planned treatment.  I cried once I got in the car.  It was tough facing that “what if”… and had I made the right decisions in choosing which option to sign?

(Did you know that doggie CPR costs and extra $350 – $750 should they need to use it?  Wow! )

Thankfully everything went well and we should have our sweet boy resting at home tomorrow.

One Comment leave one →
  1. jean permalink
    June 11, 2011 10:50 am

    Glad Shadow is doing good. When I saw the title of your blog, I said, Oh No.And was afraid to read it. LOL.

Leave a Reply

