Skip to content

2011 – Year in Review

January 1, 2012

January – Nick turned 15!  Brian started a new job.  I tried a new chili recipe.

February – Tay got braces.  We hosted our annual Super Bowl Party – Go Packers!  I started hosting a weekly book club.  My Grandma  passed away.  I was in a minor car accident.  We went tubing with our church youth group.  I tried a new chili recipe.

March – My car got fixed (see February).  The 6th grade girls from our youth group all spent the night (what was I thinking?).  I tried a new chili recipe.

April – I turned 42.  We took a trip to Cleveland to watch Team 1038 compete in the Buckeye Regional Robotics Competition.  My parents went too.  It was lots of fun!  I tried a new chili recipe.

May – We wrapped up our fifth – and my last – season of Kidstuf.  Taylor finished 6th grade.  I tried a new chili recipe.

June – Nick finished 9th grade.  Shadow had surgery.  Brian’s brothers came “home” for a visit.  Nick had his wisdom teeth removed.  Brian traveled to Atlanta – twice!  I tried a new chili recipe.

July – Both kids went to Theater Camp.  Brian and Nick went to Mammoth Cave.  We had a fun – and HOT – week in Chicago.  We visited my BFF on the way home from Chicago.  Brian traveled to Atlanta – twice!  I tried a new chili recipe.

August – Shadow had a biopsy.  Nick started 10th grade.  Tay started 7th grade in a new school (and loves it!).  Brian traveled to Atlanta.  I tried a new chili recipe.

September – Taylor turned 13!  Brian started a new job.  Brian, Nick, my dad, and I went on a fun Segway tour.  Tay went to her first school dance.  Nick auditioned for a Christmas play at church.  Brian turned 42 (old-timer).  We had our sweet Shadow put to sleep.  Best thing for him but so hard for us.  I tried a new chili recipe.

October – Nick started his second year with the robotics team.  Brian started his first year as a team mentor.  Nick started play practice.  We transformed our “back room” into an awesome scrapbooking room.  I tried a new chili recipe.

November – I entered a GOOD chili recipe into the church’s chili cook-off.  A last-minute tweak took it from “really good” to “just good”.  Next year I won’t make any last-minute changes!  I got to co-host the bake auction at the cook-off – fun!  We had a fun Thanksgiving – and lots to be thankful for.  I was especially thankful that my BFF, Sarah was able to join us this year!  I did NOT try a new chili recipe. 

December – Nick did a great job as  “Joseph” in the youth group Christmas play.  Tay had her first chorus concert.  Brian & I went to his company holiday party.  We brought a dog home on a “home visit”.  We had a wonderful Christmas with our families.  We adopted a sweet dog called “Charlie”.  I did NOT try a new chili recipe. 

What a great year.  So thankful for all of our blessings.  I look forward to what’s in store for 2012!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Jean permalink
    January 1, 2012 5:07 pm

    Loved your “year in review”!!

Leave a Reply

