Skip to content

Heard Around the House: Temple of God Edition

January 17, 2012

At dinner tonight it was mentioned that there is going to be a new iCarly episode with Michelle Obama.  We were discussing Mrs. Obama and the work she’s doing to improve the health/diets of kids in the country.

Nick:  She’s ruining everything.

Me:  How is she ruining everything?

Nick:  She’s taking away my constitutional rights to put salt on my fries and eat sugary cookies.

Me:  I have something better than the constitution.  (I pull out my “Made to Crave” book).

Nick:  That is better than the constitution?

Me:  No, but the Bible is.  (I look up a section in the book)  In 1 Corinthians it says “Everything is permissible – but not everything is beneficial.”  Sure you can have that salt and cookies but is it beneficial to your body?

Nick:  Isn’t our body supposed to be the temple of God?

Me:  Yes.

Nick:  Well in ancient times the better the God, the bigger the temple.  Shouldn’t we be trying for bigger bodies?

Oh my gosh…why do I bother?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 7:13 pm

    LOL, Nick and I think so much alike!!!

  2. Candy permalink
    January 17, 2012 7:32 pm

    This house is not watching that episode and it hasn’t got anything to do with healthy eating!

    • January 17, 2012 7:38 pm

      Hmm…I have no idea what the episode is about. We just got off on a tangent about the healthy eating. :)

Leave a Reply

