Skip to content

Friday Five

February 3, 2012

1.  I’ve been TIRED this week.  I don’t know what my problem is.  I haven’t blogged because I figured you wouldn’t want to hear me whine about being tired and doing laundry.  Other than that?  Not much going on around here.  LOL!  That’s not completely true, but it does seem like that’s how my week has gone.  Laundry & dreaming of a nap.  Oh, and walking the dog (thankful for nice weather!).  Such an exciting week.  Don’t be jealous. 

2.  It’s February!  How did that happen?  I realized this morning that I haven’t blogged about my goals for 2012.  Maybe that’s for the best since I’m usually a goal-failure!  Ha!  I did start the process for one goal — reading through the Bible.  ALL THE WAY THROUGH!  From cover to cover!  So far I’ve made it through Genesis.  There are some GOOD stories in there y’all.  We’ve been working through the Old Testament in the class I help teach at church.  I’m continually amazed at how a perfect God works in the lives of IMPERFECT people.  Those people in the Bible?  Imperfect!  Just like us.  Yet God loved them and used them just like He does today.  It’s good stuff I tell ya. 

3.  Nick is being bombarded by letters & emails from colleges (thanks to some tests he took a few months ago).  The other day he thought he found his school  — the Colorado School of Mimes.  He was pretty sure it would be fun to be a mime.  Surely he could make a living doing that.  Then he double checked the envelope and saw that it was from the Colorado School of MINES.  Mines.  Nothing to do with mimes at all.  Bummer.  What the heck is a School of Mines anyways?  Guess he’ll have to stick with his first choice – a school in Indiana with a “quidditch club”.  Now before you think he’s basing his decision on a Harry Potter club, you should know that they also have a “Playstation team”.  I always wanted him to love sports. He could be a college athlete after all.   So there ya go.

4.  Robotics build season is almost over and although I haven’t been at the meetings it sounds as if our team really doesn’t have a functioning robot at this time.  This is not good people.  Not good at all.  Their first competition is coming up quickly and call me crazy but I don’t think they’ll do very well without a working robot! 

5.  I almost fell on our walk last night.  I tripped on an uneven part of the sidewalk.  In trying to keep myself from falling I spooked the dog.  He tried to take off & hurt my wrist.  In trying not to fall, I hurt my leg and my back.  It was all rather graceful.  Ha!  When the moment had passed I had to laugh.  Sometimes you just gotta laugh at yourself.  That and hope none of your neighbors were looking out their windows!

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 4, 2012 11:27 am

    I can totally see Nick going to the school for Mimes lol!
    Hopefully you will get your college athlete after all! I hope your back and wrist feel better, I fell in front of Sharons house last summer. Then I got ill on the ground in her front yard…Im sure her neighbors thought that was a fun show!

Leave a Reply

