Skip to content

Weekend Wrap-Up (Yes, I know it’s Wednesday!)

February 29, 2012

I meant to post a “weekend wrap-up” on Monday but I never got around to it.  And now it’s Wednesday already!  A few days ago I was reading a friend’s blog and she had posted a “weekly wrap-up” on a Wednesday.  She must have had a short week.  I remember thinking it a bit strange (sorry friend) and I’m sure a “weekend wrap-up” on a Wednesday is a bit strange too.  Oh well.  I like strange.

Anyhoo…

It was a weekend of projects around here.  Tay spent Friday night working on her science project experiment.  Sadly, she didn’t want me to take any pictures.  She did take a bunch herself for her display board.  The project involved apples, sprite, and pineapple juice.  I’ll sneak some pictures when the final presentation is completed.  In April.  Girlfriend likes to get her work done early!  She starts her homework in the car before we are even out of the school parking lot. 

Nick was supposed to fix dinner for us on Friday but I forgot to pick up one of the ingredients he needed.  He made some cookies instead.

Peanut butter chocolate chip made with whole wheat flour.  Yum-o!

Saturday morning we slept in (yay!) and then took a trip to Springfield to celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday.  We had a fun visit but I forgot to take any pictures.

Sunday we went to church.  I had a “party day” with my middle school kiddos (they earned it by collecting points for attendance, bringing their Bibles, etc.).  It was a fun morning.  After church we headed home so Nick could complete the projects he needed to do for school.  Yes, projects (with an “s” — more than one!).  He says he told me about the second project but I’m fairly certain I had never heard of it.  He had to make something for English to represent the book they had just read: Frankenstein

Pretty cute, huh?  There are pictures on the other sides of the block of wood telling more about the character of the monster.  He also had to make a menu for a German restaurant.

Two projects just didn’t seem like enough for the day so he cooked us dinner as well.

Homemade alfredo.  He’s taking a “Cooking for Healthy Living” class at school.  As we sat down to enjoy his delicious meal, I commented how good it was but I was a little concerned that it really didn’t seem all that healthy.  Aparently he forgot to inform me that in class they used low-fat & fat-free versions of all the ingredients he had me pick up.  He didn’t think low-fat & fat-free was all that fun so he made it using full-fat ingredients.

And it was yummy.

Next time we will try it the healthy way!

We both breathed a sigh of relief when the projects were completed.  I asked him if he was going to wait until the last minute the next time he has a project due.  He said he probably would. 

*sigh*

I was looking for something on my phone the other day and realized someone had gotten ahold of it…

Crazy kids! 

Nick is on his way to Knoxville with the robotics team for their first competion of the year!  So exciting!  Go Team 1038! 

I’m off to mop my floors.  The fun around here just never ends!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

