Skip to content

I Just Wanted a Little Extra Sleep

March 6, 2012

Last night around 10:00 it hit me.  I was tired.  Very tired.  I blame our weekend-o-robot-fun (more on that later).  I decided to do something I rarely do.  I went to bed early.  I put the dog in his cage and then headed upstairs.  Brian was in bed watching something on t.v. and it didn’t take long before I was OUT. 

A good night’s sleep was what I needed.

A good night’s sleep is not what I got.

It was not long after I fell asleep that Brian woke me up.  I was out of it but I think he mumbled something like, “Wake up.  You’re snoring like a chainsaw.”

Isn’t he sweet?

First of all, I do not snore. 

Second of all, if I was “snoring like a chainsaw” it was because I was TIRED! 

I was offended but quickly went back to sleep.

I still had plenty of time to get a good night’s sleep.

I really needed a good night’s sleep.

A good night’s sleep is not what I got.

Not long after interrupting my good night’s sleep with the offending chainsaw remark he woke me up again.

I was still out of if but I’m pretty sure he said something like “Your dumb dog is barking”. 

Ugh!

Sure enough, Charlie wanted out.  Now you might wonder why Brian just didn’t get up and deal with the dog (who is NOT dumb by the way).  Charlie still hasn’t gotten completely comfortable with Brian so I still deal with him if he’s having a rough night. 

I headed downstairs, opened his cage, and he bolted for the back door.  He doesn’t do that often so I know he really did need to go out (and wasn’t just barking cause he missed me, which does happen on occasion).  He came in wound up and full of energy.  There was no way he was going back into his cage at that point.  I was also wide awake at this point so there was no sense in going back to bed for a while.

So, I did NOT get the extra sleep I had been hoping for and I have been beyond tired today!  I did manage to sneak in a little nap this afternoon.  Hopefully tonight will be a better night with no chainsaws or barking dogs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

