Skip to content

Take your time, I’ll wait….

March 31, 2012

I should know better than to go to the grocery store on Saturday yet I somehow found myself there again this afternoon.  Why, oh why don’t I get myself organized and get the shopping done during the week?  I really have no excuse. 

Last Saturday I had to run out and get a few things and during this trip I found myself in the same aisle as the whiniest child I have ever seen.  This child was old enough be shopping without creating a scene.  Next time I’m leaving him at home.  Ha! 

(I’m kidding.  I’m kidding.  I don’t take my kids to the grocery store.  It wasn’t me!  Honest!)

Anyhoo…

Today’s trip was pretty uneventful as far as the actual shopping trip.  The real excitement came as I was putting the groceries into my car.

I had almost finished putting everything into the back of my car when another car pulls into the space next to mine.  The people just sat in the car.  I finished unloading my cart and headed to put it away.  The people were still sitting in their car.  I returned to my car, started the car, buckled up, and had just put the car in reverse when the guy decides to get out of his car.

Not only did he decide to get out of the car at this particular time, he decided to do it in slow motion.

Seriously?

Take your time, I’ll wait…

Just when I think all is clear to pull out, he opens the back door of his car and out jumps a small child.  A few seconds later he takes out a car seat holding another child.

Take your time, I’ll wait…

While I was watching all of the unloading of the car, I failed to realize that his wife had gone to get a cart.  She then parks the cart right behind my car while they load up the baby and all the baby stuff you may need for a shopping trip to the grocery store.  First they put the baby seat in the top of the cart.  Then they fiddle around with it a bit.

Take your time, I’ll wait…

Then they put the baby seat in the cart.  They put the baby bag in with the baby.  Then they put the baby bag in the seat.  Then they put another large bag in the cart.  I’m pretty sure they’ve lost their other child by this time. 

And did I mention that my Skinny Cow ice cream sandwiches are in the back melting at this time?

Have you ever felt like yelling out the car window at a total stranger?

No?

Yeah, me neither.

I only wish they had been dressed funny so I could have taken their picture for the “People of ….” website.  LOL!   

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

