Skip to content

Heard Around the Birthday Dinner Table

April 3, 2012

Today’s my birthday.  I’m 34 43.  How did that happen?  It was recently brought to my attention that I graduated from high school 25 years ago.  TWENTY-FIVE YEARS!  I assured the person that couldn’t be right.  We were simply not that old.  Turns out we are.  Brian was talking to someone the other day who was born in 1987.  The year we graduated.  Seriously, where has the time gone? 

You want to know something?  Age doesn’t bother me. 

*gasp*

I know, I know…  Some women (probably some of you reading this) have a hard time getting older.  Doesn’t really bother me.  Does that make me strange?

(Don’t answer that.)

I spent most of my birthday waiting on dryer repair men to show up and fix my dryer.  The first one came this morning and was sure he had solved our problems. 

He hadn’t.

Repair man #2 showed up this afternoon.  He’s pretty sure he’s solved our problems.

I think maybe he has!  Woot!

I spent my “waiting around time” today catching up on “Once Upon a Time”.  Does anyone watch that?  So good!

It’s a tradition in our family for the birthday girl (or boy) to choose where to have dinner.  I chose Chili’s.  It was a meal full of laughter.  I love these people in my family!

Here are just a few pieces of our conversations tonight (all shared with permission):

*When discussing a couple of college options with Nick…

Tay:  I think I’m going to go into fitness.

Brian:  You’d be good at that.  You know you have to go to college to do that.

Tay:  I know.  Then I’m gonna be a trainer on The Biggest Loser so I can make the people barf.  Gonna make them barf that fat right out.

She’s such a sweet, loving girl. 

*Later on Tay was going on and on about something or other….

Nick:  Do you remember when she was shy and wouldn’t talk to anyone?  I miss those days.

LOL!

*And finally a conversation about a possible vacation…

Me:  So are you all opening up to the idea of Washington D.C.?  (Neither of my kids have ever wanted to go there.  They don’t like “educational” vacations.  Nick has recently mentioned an exhibit there that he’d like to see.)

Nick:  Yes!

Brian:  Really?

Tay:  Sure.  I heard some girls talking about it in the locker room and they said it’s really fun.  Would we have to fly if we go there?

Brian:  No.

Tay:  But it’s all the way over by California.

We’ve contacted the “Pro-Lakota” levy people and offered her services as their poster child.

Thank you family (and dryer repair guys) for a fun day!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

