Skip to content

Random Acts of Kindness

October 5, 2012

I love doing nice things for people.  I also love hearing stories of random acts of kindness, like the guy last year who paid off people’s lay-away bills or people paying for the car behind them in the drive through line.  It’s such a neat thing when people go out of their way to do something kind for someone else.  You never know what a blessing that little act (or sometimes big act) can be to someone.

This morning I got a chance to do a small thing for someone.  I had counted candy sale money at Tay’s school and had a little time to kill before the bank opened to make the deposit.  I decided to swing by Starbucks for my new favorite, Salted Caramel Mocha.  When I told the lady what I wanted she asked me if I was going to see someone who would like a drink as they were buy one get one free.  I really wasn’t but didn’t want to turn down the free drink. 

As she started making my drinks I began thinking about what I was going to do with this free drink.  I knew I’d be swinging by the bank and then back by Tay’s school but I was afraid it might get cold before I got to either of those locations. 

I began to consider drinking it myself.

(And then I reminded myself that I did NOT need the calories or the sugar in TWO Salted Caramel Mochas)

I decided I’d offer it to a random stranger. 

You might know that as I headed for my car there wasn’t a single person in sight.  I finally saw a woman walking towards the store and as she passed me I asked if she liked Starbucks.  She said no.

(What kind of person – besides my husband – doesn’t like Starbucks?)

I told her they had given me an extra drink and I was going to see if she wanted it.  Since she was looking at me like I was a crazy person I decided to move on rather than try and convince her to try the goodness that is a Salted Caramel Mocha.

(You’d think she’d never had a complete stranger offer her a free coffee in the Target parking lot at 8:50 a.m. on a Friday before.  Geesh.)

Anyhoo…I made my way to the bank, made my deposit, and then headed back to Tay’s school to drop off the money bag and deposit ticket.

The drink was still warm at this point and I was tempted to keep it for myself.

(Then I reminded myself that I did NOT need the calories or the sugar in TWO Salted Caramel Mochas)

I took the coffee into the school and gave it to the secretary.  She seemed thrilled and although she hadn’t tried this particular drink before thought it sounded good. 

(It is)

I have no idea if she drank it, gave it away, or tossed it.  She either told people of the nice thing a parent had done for her or told the tale of the crazy mom with a free coffee.  Who knows.  Either way, I hope it brightened her day just a bit.  And I hope she liked it!

Most of the time when I do this type of thing I really don’t tell people I’ve done it.  I’m not posting this to say “look what I’ve done”.  I’m just sharing in the hopes that it might encourage someone else to take the time to do something for someone.  It’ll be a blessing to them AND to you too!

Oh, and the lady at Starbucks told me the buy one/get one is on till the 8th.  Treat yourself and someone else to a treat!  I recommend the Salted Caramel Mocha.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

