Skip to content

Friday Five: Favorite Charities

October 19, 2012

Kelly’s Korner Show Us Your Life is doing favorite charities today so I thought it would be fun to link up.

1.  Operation Christmas Child – I’m so happy our church is participating in this program again this year.  I’ll never forget the first video I saw about this program and seeing the kids so thrilled with their shoeboxes.  The fact that they were over-joyed with a bar of soap and a wash cloth really got to me.  Our kids have so much and these kids were thrilled with so little.  I try to do two boxes – one boy and one girl and usually pick the ages around the ages of my own children.  I like to fill the boxes with a mix of necessities (toothbrushes, toothpaste, etc) and fun stuff.  This reminds me that I need to get working on this year’s boxes.

2.  Matthew 25 Ministries – this is a local organization that gives help wherever it’s needed.  If you’re local you might consider donating your time.  We went with our youth group this summer and I was so impressed with the work they do there. 

3.  Butler County Family Connections – I couldn’t find a link but this is part of the Butler County Children Services.  Family Connections works with the foster care program.  I had no idea this even existed until our church did a big clothing give-away there.  Since then we learned of a need they had for Halloween costumes and I just happened to have a bunch of old costumes hanging in my closet.  I won’t lie, it was hard to part with some of them but I just kept focusing on the kids that needed them more than I needed them hanging in my closet.  I believe they take donations of clothing (and maybe food).

4.  Reece’s Rainbow – this organization raises funds and awareness for special needs adoption.  It’s a group that’s near & dear to my DFF.  She volunteers with their Christmas program to raise funds for a child.  It wouldn’t surprise me if one day she becomes the mommy to one of these great kids. 

5.  Alphachic – I’m not sure this really falls into the category of a “charity” but the work these girls are doing is fantastic (and I happen to know both of them and they are the nicest people!).  They make darling  t-shirts and all of their profits go to send kids in Haiti to school.  Check them out!

I know that there are MANY great organizations out there that are doing a lot of great work helping people.  It’s impossible to give to every single one.  Just pick one or two that you’re really drawn to and try to help out in some way.  A little bit of your time and/or money can go a long way in making a difference in someone’s life!  It just might make a difference in yours too.  :)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Jackie permalink
    October 19, 2012 11:36 pm

    Yay! Thanks for the shout out to Reece’s Rainbow! I love those babies! Little Sophia K. Is my girl again this year!

  2. October 20, 2012 7:51 pm

    Participating in Operation Christmas Child is so much fun! My physical therapy classmates and I just packed our boxes this past week… I look forward to seeing where my box goes this year (last year was India!)

    Reece’s Rainbow is definitely one of my favorite charities! The need is so great as there are so many children waiting for families – I try to help by blogging for them.

    Thanks featuring these great causes!

    Pam
    http://savinghissparrows.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

