Skip to content

something you do everyday

November 8, 2012

Today’s photo is supposed to be “something you do everyday”.  There are lots of things I do every day.  Pack lunches.  Take kids to & from school.  Laundry.

There’s something else I do every day.  I haven’t shared much on the blog (if at all) about this…

I check my blood sugar every day.  Four times a day (at least I’m supposed to!).

I wasn’t going to blog about this but I recently read that November is National Diabetes Month so I figured I’d do a post sometime this month.  Maybe something I share will help someone going through this as well.  Earlier this year I went to a new doctor for a check up and to have some testing done.  This testing was NOT for diabetes although she did a complete blood work-up checking for lots of things.  Three weeks after my first visit I went back for my test results.  There were many things I was expecting her to say.  “You have diabetes” was not one of them. 

On one hand I was shocked to hear these words.  On the other hand they didn’t surprise me at all.  I had had a “questionable” blood test a year or so ago but then was told I was fine.  There are several people with diabetes in my family as well.

So, this began a series of doctor’s appointments, nutrition counseling, and lots of research.  In the midst of all of this I read this post on The Metabolism Miracle .  In researching that plan I discovered that the author had also written The Diabetes Miracle.  This sounded like just what I needed.  I immediately went on the program and saw fantastic results at my follow-up blood testing (after a month on the program).  My doctor was amazed at my progress and encouraged me to keep on doing what I was doing. 

I’ve been up & down with this program and am working on making it a permanent lifestyle rather than just a program to get things under control.  Sometimes that’s easier said than done!  I HATE diabetes but I also know that there are people who have to deal with a LOT more than this.  I don’t always make the best choices and I’m learning day by day.  I won’t give up trying to be as healthy as possible!

If you happen to have Type 2 Diabetes and are struggling to keep your numbers in the normal range, you might take a look at The Diabetes Miracle.  It could be just what you need.  If you don’t have diabetes but have a difficult time losing weight, check out the post I linked to and see if The Metabolism Miracle might work for you.

Oh, and for those of you who know how much I love to bake…I do NOT eat very many of the treats I make.  I usually make them for my family or to give away!  :)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

