Skip to content

Birthday Cake

February 19, 2013

Around 25 years ago, I took a couple of cake decorating classes.  Yes, you read that right…25 YEARS. 

(I’m so old)

When my mother-in-law invited us to her house to celebrate my father-in-law’s birthday, I volunteered to bring a cake.  I love to bake so I was looking forward to making him something.  What I hadn’t thought of at that moment was that I would  somehow decide to bake AND decorate a cake. 

Did I mention I once learned to decorate cakes?  25 years ago?

Anyhoo…

I mentioned the cake to Brian and he suggested a Nascar cake with the Nascar logo. 

(I had no idea what the Nascar logo even looked like)

I did a little “cake research” online and got some ideas.  This past Saturday I went to work.  I had a slight moment of panic early on in the decorating process, but managed to come up with this…

donbiday4

Overall I was happy with how it turned out.  Oh, and keeping with the whole “Nascar” theme, I decided to do a checkerboard cake…

donbday2

donbday3

Brian’s grandma always made checkerboard cakes.  I guess it’s now my family responsibility to carry on the checkerboard cake tradition.  Ha!

Today is Don’s actual birthday! 

donbday1

Happy Birthday, Don!  We hope you had a great day and a piece of left-over cake!  We love you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. jean windham permalink
    February 19, 2013 7:13 pm

    Happy Birthday Don!

Leave a Reply

