Skip to content

Hello, Summer & Training Tuesday

June 4, 2013

Hello, Summer.

We’re so glad you’re here!  We look forward to long, lazy days and sleeping past 5:15 each morning (although I woke up at 5:30 this morning!).

Friday was the last day of 8th grade for Tay and 11th grade for Nick.  I drove by the junior high yesterday and it hit me that I’ll never be dropping a kid off there again.  *sigh*

Friday morning was an 8th grade promotion program at Tay’s school.  They give out some awards and then every 8th grader gets a certificate listing the activities they’ve participated in during their time in junior high.  Tay got a couple of the “extra” awards.  She was super surprised to get the “Citizenship Award” for her Social Studies class.

award

The kids in the class vote on who should get his award and she was sure another girl was going to get it.  Way to go, Tay!

Nick was thrilled to be off work yesterday and made the most of his first day of break by taking a nap or three and watching some Netflix.  Tay and I went to the Y to workout and then she went to a birthday party last night.  I also started the summer by signing them each up for summer school.  Am I a fun mom or what?  Nick is taking two online classes and Tay is taking one.  Let the summer fun begin!

Speaking of summer fun…

I was going to share this on fb this morning but I knew people wouldn’t believe the amount of fun that could be crammed into one morning.  I even thought some might be jealous and I don’t like to make people jealous.  The truth is, I know how to start the summer off right.  Like one big party.

Six months ago, I scheduled an appointment with my dentist.  I never wrote it on my calendar and was surprised when I got the reminder text a couple of weeks ago that it was scheduled for today (yes, they text me – they’re cool like that).  I grabbed my calendar to make a note of the appointment and immediately saw the problem.  Three weeks ago I called and set up another appointment for this morning.  For that doctor.  You know the one.

Seriously?

I debated canceling one or the other, but being the fun-loving person I am, I decided to go for it and get everything over in one morning.  The only thing that would have made the morning better is if I had been able to squeeze in a mammogram!

(Ha!  Squeeze?  Mammogram?)

(I crack myself up.)

(Pardon the inappropriate mammogram humor, Dad.)

(My dad reads my blog.  Well he used to anyways.)

I’m glad those appointments are over with (ladies, if you’re not up to date with these things – get on it!).

What I wasn’t glad about it the news I got as I was leaving the dentist.  SHE’S DROPPING OUR INSURANCE!  NOOOOO! (Is what I may have yelled as she told me!).  I’m so bummed!  I was planning on going to her for the rest of my life!

(Dramatic much?)

Anyone know a good dentist that takes insurance that doesn’t like to pay?  That should be easy to find.

Anyhoo…

If you made it through all of that you need to get a life I’ll give you a quick training update (if you’re sick of the training updates just stop reading on Tuesdays).

Here’s whats’ happening this week…

week4

So. Hard.

I was sure I couldn’t run those times (I know it doesn’t seem like much.  Try it sometime!) but I managed.  I guess I should clarify that when I say “run”, I really mean “jog”.  And when I say “jog” I mean v-e-r-y s-l-o-w-l-y.  The other day I may have been lapped by an elderly woman walking an elderly dog.

I saw a t-shirt the other day that said “Slow mileage is better than no mileage”.  So true!  I don’t even want to talk about next week.  But I will.  On Tuesday.  You’ve been warned.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

