Skip to content

Cooking with Allie

August 16, 2013

My sweet friend Allie came over this afternoon.  We’ve talked for some time about getting together and baking some cupcakes.  Today was the day!  We ended up doing more than cupcakes.  She mentioned in a facebook status that she’d love to cook some Pioneer Woman recipes (she loves her cooking show on Saturday mornings).  Little did Allie know…I love me some Pioneer Woman.

We planned for Allie to be here at 1:30 and I told her to tell her mom not to cook dinner for their family tonight.  She was right on time and we went right to work.  We mixed up a batch of cupcakes and got them in the oven.  While they were baking we got to work on Pioneer Woman’s Mini Meatball Sandwiches.  I had made this recipe before and “cheated” by using frozen meatballs.  Today we made our own.  We got one batch of the meatballs cooking, pulled the cupcakes from the oven, and got started on Pioneer Woman’s Mac & Cheese.  I’ve made this several times and it’s always been SO good.  Well…it was until a couple of weeks ago.  I made a pan and it tasted like mustard.  Yuck.  You use dry mustard in the recipe and I’m not sure where I went wrong but it was awful.  Same thing happened today!  Thankfully it was just in one batch.  We whipped up a second batch without the mustard and mixed the two together.  Perfect.  (So if you make this, cut the dry mustard in half).  Pioneer Woman makes her recipes look so easy.  They actually have a lot of steps!

When all that was done, we went to work frosting our cupcakes.  Here’s Allie working on her cupcakes…

alliecupcake

She quickly got the hang of a frosting “swirl”.  She finished hers with star sprinkles.  I finished mine with rainbow sprinkles.  They looked cute and I should have snapped a picture!

I just got a text that said her family gave her dinner “two thumbs up” each.  :)  Yay!  What a fun afternoon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

