Skip to content

Tales from the Treadmill

October 9, 2013

I like to run outside.  Actually “like” is a bit strong for my feelings towards running.  So let’s just say, I prefer to run outside.  Tay likes to workout at the Y.  Usually I’ll do my outside running in the morning and then do some strength training at the Y while she does her workout on the elliptical.  I haven’t slept well this week and haven’t had it in me to do two workouts each day.  That’s how I’ve found myself running inside on the treadmill.

I used to avoid the treadmill at all cost.  I’d see people running on them and they looked so graceful and light on their feet.  You couldn’t hear their feet hitting the treadmill at all.  I was afraid I’d sound like a heard of rhinos.  I’m a new runner!  I’m still trying to figure out how to look graceful and light on my feet!  When we were on vacation this summer, I ran on the treadmill at the hotel (YES!  I actually used the workout room on vacation.  Once.).

Anyhoo…this afternoon we found ourselves at the Y once again.  Tay headed off to the elliptical and I made my way to a treadmill at the end of the row (that way if i pass out I have a 50/50 chance of landing in the aisle instead of on another treadmill).  I started up my training program and was doing great.  I love running….for the first 30 seconds.  After that it’s all down hill.  Usually.  Today, it got interesting.

I’m huffing & puffing and sweating like crazy when someone hops on the treadmill RIGHT NEXT TO ME.  Hello?  There are 14 other treadmills this person could have chosen. I’m sure she saw what a pathetic runner I was and figured she’d look good next to me.  At one point she kept looking over at me.  I’m not sure if she was concerned about my huffing & puffing (I’m fine.  I just can’t breathe.) or if she wondered why someone running so slowly was sweating so much.  Who knows.  I just kept on going.  I soon noticed that something was stinky.  There was a good chance it was me.  On second thought – or sniff – I realized it was the gal next to me.  Girlfriend was working out!  Here’s the thing though (Keep in mind, I’m no expert.  Except at running for 30 seconds.)…I’m fairly certain that you’re not supposed to crank the treadmill up to speeds so high that your only options are to hold on for dear life or go flying off the back.  If you have to jump off every FOUR seconds (my app was running so I timed her) you may be going too fast.  I’m just sayin’.

I had to laugh when we were headed to the car and Tay says, “So what was up with that person on the treadmill next to you?”.  I have NO idea.  But it sure was entertaining!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

