Skip to content

Trick-or-Treat

October 31, 2013

I was thinking back earlier today about all the years the kids went trick-or-treating.  We had a group of friends we went with each year.  We’d meet for dinner at one or our houses and then head out for the treats.  Here’s our crew in 2004…

trickortreat

Aren’t they cute?!

(Two of them are now seniors, one’s a junior, two are freshman, and the little guy is in 5th grade!)

I posted this on facebook a couple of weeks ago and a couple of people suggested we reenact it. Wouldn’t that be fun?!  I wonder if I could get them to do it.

Many years ago, my mom and I were walking out of a store on a really hot day and some people handed us a cold pop.  (I wonder if my mom remembers this.)  They were from a local church and were just doing a little outreach.  Since that time, I’ve seen people from this church around doing things like that from time to time.  Fast forward 20+ years and we are now going to that church!  I was excited because tonight I was going to get to be a part of a Halloween outreach and I could do it right from home.

A couple of weeks ago we got some stickers from church to put on the candy we were passing out…

kitkat

Isn’t that fun?!  We only had 17 kids come by but you should have heard them when they realized they got a FULL-SIZED candy bar.  I hope they read the sticker before they tear into it!

(I am not sharing this to toot my own horn – I’m not a horn tooter.  It just always amazes me how doing something a little unexpected can make someone’s day.  Try it!  It’ll make them feel good and you’ll feel great!)

(Nick recently told me I was turning into my grandma when I did something nice & unexpected for someone.  I’ll take that as a compliment.)

Charlie wasn’t sure what to think of all the costumed kids coming to the door.  I’m sure he’s glad we didn’t have more!

Carol graphic

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

