Skip to content

Weekend Wrap-Up

January 12, 2015

I’m not doing the daily pictures on Instagram this year so I’m going to TRY and be a better blogger!  I can’t make any promises though.  I’ve been busy trying to get 7,000+ steps in every day and spending as much time with Lorelai and Rory as I can, so I’ll post when I can.  :)

Friday afternoon, Taylor, Rachael, and I volunteered at the animal shelter.  It was COLD out and I wasn’t sure how much dog walking we’d get it but it worked out great.  They had a sign on the dog room door that they just wanted the dogs to go on short walks or just out to potty and then they could go in the inside playroom.  We walked several dogs and played in the room with several.

The girls loved this little guy named Oscar.

photo 1 (5)

And this sweet girl, Anna Belle.

photo 2 (5)

I wish I had gotten a picture of her when we had her out.  SO SWEET.  Seriously, if we were looking for a dog… (we’re not!).  If you’re local and are looking for a dog you NEED to visit Animal Friends.

We decided to stop by the cat room on our way out.

photo 3 (4)

We’re NOT cat people but look how sweet Tay and this little one are together.

Friday night we took Tay and her friend “J” to the mall.  The girls shopped and Brian & I had a mall date just like a couple of teenagers.  Food court pizza and walking the mall.  What could be better?  We did have fun.

On Saturday, Brian and his friend “B” went to lunch and “man shopping” at their favorite manly store, Harbor Freight.  They were having their “biggest sale EVER”.  Taylor and I went to pick up dessert for my Book Club party, Hobby Lobby for something I needed for Book Club (I can’t tell you yet), and then to Michael’s for some art supplies.  Taylor used to LOVE to draw and was quite good.  She’s just decided she’s going to draw again.  Check out this adorable Olaf she drew.

IMG_8473 (1)

Love it!

Saturday evening I finished up some cleaning for my Book Club Party on Sunday and then became concerned about Sunday’s weather and wasn’t even sure we’d have book club.  We had a FUN party planned and we were all really looking forward to it.

Sunday morning I got up and threw together a Bacon Cheeseburger Soup in the crock pot for lunch after church.  After texting with some of my peeps, I made the call to cancel our Book Club party for that evening (and then remembered I had the dessert sitting on my counter and wondered what I was going to do with it all!).  We went to church and enjoyed a great service.  We came home and ate our yummy soup (it made enough that I could freeze half for another meal – love when that happens).  I finished up Nick’s laundry & bagged up his Christmas gifts while he packed up some things in his room.  Brian helped him load up his car and he was off for school.  I think he was happy to be going back!  Brian enjoyed a lazy day filled with football games (his team won!).  I took half of the Book Club dessert to my DFF for her family to enjoy & stopped by Dunkin’ Donuts for my favorite hot chocolate (I tried the salted caramel this time – it was good but I REALLY like their regular old hot chocolate).  It’s a good thing I don’t live in my DFF’s neighborhood RIGHT NEXT TO DUNKIN’ DONUTS – I’d be there every day!  (My DFF is totally to blame for this hot chocolate addiction!)  I came home, put on my pj’s and spent some time with the Gilmore Girls and then watched a couple of our favorite shows with Brian.

We LOVED having Nick home for a whole month!  He worked like crazy and was up & out the door many mornings at 4:00 or 5:00.  I think he was ready to go back to school and get into his normal routine.  We always hate to see him go but we were looking forward to getting more sleep as well!  Sadly, I still woke up at 5:00 this morning!  I have an exciting day planned that involves lots of laundry (how did EVERY towel we own end up dirty at the same time?) and entering a pile of receipts in the checkbook (why did I let them pile up?).  Taylor’s small group starts back tonight and I’m meeting a friend for coffee and planning for a Bible study we’re hoping to start (more on that later!).

Have a great Monday!  Stay warm!

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

