Skip to content

Weekend Wrap Up

February 16, 2015

Happy Monday!  What a fun & COLD weekend!

Tay has the day off school and slept in this morning.  I was supposed to go for a haircut this morning but woke up not feeling great.  I hated to cancel but it’s a good day to stay in anyways.

We had a fun weekend even though I can’t remember what we did on Friday.  I’m thinking we just hung out at home.  Brian & I may have run an errand but that could have been on Thursday.  I’m not sure.  LOL!  I never know what day it is.

Saturday morning, I got up and ran to the grocery for a couple of things that I couldn’t find earlier in the week.  I also stopped by the cupcake store for dessert for a book club party I was hosting.  Saturday evening, Tay went snow tubing with her youth group.  It was FREEZING but they had a great time.  Brian and I dropped her off at church and then went for an early dinner at the Chinese buffet near church.  We used to live in that area and it was one of our favorite places.  It looks different on the inside now but the food was just as yummy.  This was the first time we’ve ever dropped a kid off at a youth event and gone out to eat.  At our old church we were youth volunteers and were always the ones chaperoning the trips.  It felt a bit weird!  I also can’t remember the last time we’ve gone out to eat on Valentine’s day or when we’ve had a date that didn’t involve a stop at Home Depot or Lowe’s!  We told the girls (Tay & her friend who went with her) that we would get them hot chocolate on the way home since we knew they’d be cold.  We made it to Starbucks 10 minutes before they closed.  The girls got their hot chocolate and I got a coffee drink.  A coffee drink at 10:00 at night was not the smartest decision I’ve ever made.  I was wide awake at 1:00 a.m.  Oops!

We also had a birthday to celebrate on Saturday…

IMG_5119

This sweet boy is five!  How cute is he?  He enjoyed celebrating with is favorite treat – Frosty Paws (ice cream for dogs).  :)

Sunday morning was church and then a youth parent meeting.  I’m so thankful for a great youth group and it looks like they have lots of fun stuff planned for the kids this year.  Tay made her KidZone acting debut and I hear she was fabulous!  She was a little nervous and didn’t want us to watch (bummer!).  We had friends who happened to be in there so I had them take a picture for me.  :)  She was playing a runner who didn’t do well in a race because she kept stopping and helping people along the way (this month’s theme is “kindness”).  She wore her shirt & tutu from last year’s Color Run.  Fun!

Sunday afternoon was spent preparing for Book Club.  We usually meet at a restaurant but were doing something a bit different this month and met here.  It was a FUN night!  I’m gonna tell you all about it tomorrow.  While I was having fun with my Book Club peeps, Tay went to church for choir practice and a band meeting, and Brian went to have dinner with Nick.  So thankful Nick is feeling better!

Tay’s also been dog sitting this weekend.  This sweet guy lives next door…

IMG_5355

Tay’s been letting him out, feeding him, and just hanging out with him.  She’s also been helping him with his selfie skills…

IMG_0551

He’s a sweetie but I think he’s missing his mom!  :)

Have a great day!  Stay warm!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

