Skip to content

Friday Favorites

February 20, 2015

Happy Friday!  It’s been SO COLD here this week.  Nick’s school was closed most of the week.  He only went to one class all week – Japanese.  I had someone ask me today if I give Tay snow days when the local schools are off.  Sadly, this is not up to me!  She attends an online public school and online school is not closed when it snows.  :)  The online high school is set up just like our local high school – class schedule, teacher for each subject, assignments, tests, etc.  The only difference is that she does it at home.  I told my DFF that I could still be happy for her when her kids get a snow day.  She reminded me that at least Tay won’t have days to make up if the weather gets too bad!

Anyhoo…

In addition to the crazy  cold, I’ve had a crazy cold (or maybe a sinus infection) and have felt lousy all week.  Boo!  I had some things I had planned on blogging this week but I’ve spent most of my time catching up on my shows and playing online Tetris (Nick got me hooked!).  Here are a few favorites from this cold week…

1.  This guy…

IMG_4227 (1)

He’s ALWAYS my favorite but this week he’s been so great to help with things around the house when I haven’t felt well.  I hate to say it but he does a better job keeping up with the dirty dishes and keeping the kitchen clean than I do (I have his mother to thank for that.  My mother-in-law is the best housekeeper I know!).

He also got me these for Valentine’s Day (even though we don’t exchange gifts!)…

photo 2 (6)

I gave him some of his favorite candy.  Apparently we do exchange gifts.  :)

And he gave Tay these…

photo 1 (6)

 

2.  Friends

I’m SO thankful to have such great friends in my life.  Last Sunday I had a FUN party with my Book Club (that I WILL blog about soon!).  I also had a nice surprise this week when a sweet friend found out I wasn’t feeling great and brought us a chicken pot pie for dinner (and that chicken pot pie was one of my favorite things too!).  Tonight, some nice friends offered to bring Taylor home from a youth event.  I was so thankful!  I quickly accepted the offer and then ran upstairs and put on my pj’s!  Friends are the best!

A friend loves at all times – Proverbs 17:17

3.  Dinner with our college boy.

IMG_4087

(Old picture – he doesn’t appreciate me taking his picture every time we eat dinner together!)

While Tay was off having fun with her youth group tonight (one of her very favorite things ever is her youth group!), Brian and I got to take Nick out to dinner.  He was sick last weekend and didn’t come home so it was good to see him and catch up.  Love hearing his stories from college.

4.  Doggie Adoption

Apparently today is “Love Your Pet Day”.

IMG_4111

Y’all know that every day is “Love Your Pet Day” around here.

Last week I shared a picture of Taylor & Rachael with this sweet boy…

IMG_4856

We found out today that he has been adopted.  Yay!  The girls are happy but sure will miss him!

It looks like we’re expecting more snow tomorrow.  Hope you’ve all stocked up on bread & milk!  Stay warm!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

