Skip to content

2015 – Year in Review

December 31, 2015

Happy New Year’s Eve!

I’ve been a BAD blogger lately.  Life got so busy this fall and although there were many times I meant to sit down and write, I just never made myself do it.  Hopefully I’ll do better in the new year!  Here’s a look back at 2015…

January – Nick turned 19!  Brian and I took an AMAZING trip to Arizona.  The highlight of the trip was visiting the Grand Canyon (and spending the night in a cabin right on the south rim!).   We also had fun in Sedona (the Pink Jeep Tour is FUN!) and Phoenix.

IMG_4766 (1)

February – We hosted a fun Super Bowl Party.  My book club had a neat “favorite things” party.  Tay went snow tubing and to Winter Jam with her youth group.

March – Nick spent spring break in California!  He had a GREAT time visiting some of the country’s top technology companies with a group of nerds guys from school.

googleballpit

Ball pit @ Google :)

April – April started with Taylor having surgery for an unexpected health issue found in March.  It was the month of going to the theater!  Brian & I (along with two of my besties) went to see Lion King (I’ve wanted to see this for YEARS!).  Taylor and I went with friends to see two different local high school musicals (Thoroughly Modern Millie & Mary Poppins).  I started leading a women’s Bible study at church.

May – Nick finished his first year of college (wow, that went fast!).  Brian traveled to Michigan for work.  Taylor played in her first piano recital (and did an amazing job!).

IMG_5095

June – Taylor finished her sophomore year of high school.  Nick was busy working at McDonald’s.  We spent a long weekend in Nashville.  I went to a Beth Moore conference with some friends from church.  Brian traveled to Michigan again for work.

IMG_5168

July – Nick was busy working and hanging out with friends.  Brian traveled to Michigan, again!  Taylor went back to Nashville with a group of teens from church for a mission trip.  Taylor & I volunteered at VBS.

IMG_5553

Super Hero Night @ VBS

August – Nick moved back to school.  Taylor started her junior year of high school (seriously?).  Brian went back to Michigan.

IMG_5597 (1)

I LOVE that Nick sent me a “first day of school” picture! :)

September – We celebrated my parents’ 50th Anniversary (it was in June!).  Taylor turned 17!  Brian traveled to Michigan – twice!  Some friends and I started attending a Thursday morning Bible study in addition to our Wednesday night group.   Taylor attended a leadership conference with some teens for church (and I went along as a chaperone).

IMG_5639

October – Brian and I celebrated our 25th anniversary!  We spent a long weekend in Gatlinburg (where we went on our honeymoon all those years ago!).  Brian volunteered at “Give Camp” again this year.

FullSizeRender IMG_5846

November – I went on a fun Women’s Retreat with the ladies at church.  Brian traveled to Seattle for work.  I had my last ever “book club” meeting.  Taylor spent a fun weekend with her favorite people at the Ohio State Youth Convention.  We had fun at the youth group’s annual “Turkey Hunt”.  Nick went to Springfield early to help my mother-in-law with Thanksgiving day cooking and baking (something they’ve loved doing together for many years now).  We had a fun Thanksgiving day (and have MUCH to be thankful for!).

IMG_6070

I’m thankful for these people!

December – Taylor took the ACT (and did great!).  She sang with the church choirs (and played her guitar) at a local farm for their Christmas event.  We all enjoyed an early showing of Star Wars thanks to Brian’s company.  Tay played in a Christmas piano recital.  I ended up sick right before Christmas and almost had to cancel our Christmas day plans.  Brian & the kids pulled together and did ALL the work so we could entertain – and did a GREAT job!  Taylor is ringing in the New Year in Chicago with one of her besties and the bestie’s mom.  Nick’s plans for the evening changed so Brian and I changed our plans as well and we’ll all have a quiet evening at home.  Just the way we like it!

IMG_6216

Other than Taylor’s health issues (and we’re SO thankful that wasn’t any worse than it was!), this was a really good year!  Hope you all had a wonderful 2015 and have a safe & happy New Year!  I’m looking forward to 2016!

jeremiah-29-11

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

